Newshub - NUS' News Portal

Recognising outstanding student contributions to the University

02 March 2011

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES FROM KENT RIDGE WITH PROF TAN CHORH CHUAN: Kent Ridge Hall was recognised for its outstanding accomplishments in the areas of community projects, distinguished leadership and Rag & Flag 2010

The NUS Student Achievement Awards (SAA), organised by the Office of Student Affairs (OSA), is an annual award held to recognise exceptional individual students or student groups who have made noteworthy contributions to the University in areas outside the academic curriculum. This year's award ceremony on 25 February 2011 was attended by over 450 students, proud parents and NUS staff.

In the words of Guest-of-Honour NUS President Prof Tan Chorh Chuan: "The SAA reflects our belief that the goal of a university education is not just about producing brilliant academic results. It is also about transforming individuals and helping to shape society, and about developing leadership skills and bringing out the best in each of us."

In organising SAA, OSA seeks to promote informal learning through students' participation in co-curricular activities, involvement in the arts and community service, and students' exposure to leadership.

At SAA 2011, a total of 11 outstanding individuals and 22 groups were recognised for their sterling achievements in four categories, namely, Arts & Culture, Competitions, Community Projects and Distinguished Leadership.

Special commendation awards were also presented to NUS Students' Union and the 17 participating bodies of Rag & Flag 2010. This was in recognition of their stellar performances and breathtaking floats put up for the inaugural Rag cum YOG Flame Arrival Celebrations and for raising the record amount of $510,000 for 20 charities during Flag Day. In addition to the awards, certificates of appreciation were also presented to 118 active student organisations as acknowledgement for their contributions and commitment to the vast range of activities on campus.

To view the winners list, click here.

By Office of Student Affairs