Newshub - NUS' News Portal

New Trustees on NUS Board

30 March 2012

The new members appointed to the NUS Board of Trustees are (clockwise from top left): Ambassador Chan, Mr Lim, Mr Abdullah and Mr Singh

NUS has appointed four new members to its Board of Trustees for terms beginning on 1 April 2012.

They are Ambassador Chan Heng Chee, Singapore's Ambassador to the United States; Mr Andrew M Lim, Partner of Allen & Gledhill LLP; Mr Davinder Singh, Senior Counsel and Chief Executive Officer of Drew & Napier LLC; and Mr Abdullah Tarmugi, Member of the Presidential Council for Minority Rights and Former Speaker of Parliament.

Four current Board members will be stepping down: Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, Chairman of Fullerton Fund Management Company; Professor Edison Liu, President and Chief Executive Officer of The Jackson Laboratory; LG (NS) Ng Yat Chung, Group President and Chief Executive Officer of Neptune Orient Lines Ltd; and Mr Lucien Wong, Managing Partner of Allen & Gledhill LLP.

Mr Wong Ngit Liong, Chairman of the NUS Board, said: "As we embark on new opportunities and transform them into groundbreaking realities, it is crucial that the Board constantly renews itself to ensure that NUS has the best and most capable team at its helm."

He said that the new Board members bring with them a wealth of experience, expertise and in-depth knowledge from their respective fields that will help steer and guide NUS as it continues on its trajectory towards becoming a leading global university centred in Asia.

He thanked the outgoing members for their many years of dedicated service and considerable contributions to the University that greatly benefitted the NUS community.

The NUS Board of Trustees consists of 23 members appointed by the Minister for Education. They comprise eminent business leaders, academics, entrepreneurs and professionals from the public service and private sector. The Board is chaired by Mr Wong Ngit Liong, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Venture Corporation Limited.

See full list of NUS Board of Trustees.
Click here for information on the four new Trustees.