Newshub - NUS' News Portal

NUS Board of Trustees welcomes three new members

01 April 2011

NEW BOARD MEMBERS : (From left) Ms Chong Siak Ching, Mr Peter Ho and Dr Teh Kok Peng
NUS has appointed three new members to its Board of Trustees on 1 April 2011. They are Ms Chong Siak Ching, President and Chief Executive Officer of Ascendas Pte Ltd; Mr Peter Ho, Senior Advisor of the Centre for Strategic Futures; and Dr Teh Kok Peng, President of the GIC Special Investments Pte Ltd.

Commending the new members, NUS Board Chairman Mr Wong Ngit Liong said: "They are prominent leaders from their respective fields and bring with them strong and varied experiences in the public and private sector. Their insights will provide valuable depth of knowledge to the NUS Trustees' ability to effectively guide Singapore's flagship University to the next level."

He also expressed the University's deep gratitude to two outgoing Trustees, who have stepped down on 31 March 2011. They are Mr Chandra Mohan K Nair, Partner of law firm Tan Rajah & Cheah; and Ms Olivia Lum, Group Chief Executive Officer and President of Hyflux Ltd.

Mr Wong thanked them for having shared their experience and insights with the Board, and noted that their strong contributions to the University as Trustees, as well as alumni, had made a difference to the NUS community.

Chaired by Mr Wong, who is also Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Venture Corporation Ltd, the NUS Board of Trustees comprises 24 members appointed by Singapore's Minister for Education. Among them are eminent business leaders, academics, entrepreneurs, and professionals from the public service and private sectors.

For the full list of the NUS Board of Trustees, click here.