Newshub - NUS' News Portal

Rewarding the many facets of excellence

04 May 2012

Recipients of the NUS University Awards 2012

Mr Goh Yew Lin, the Outstanding Service Award recipient, with NUS Board of Trustees Chairman Mr Wong Ngit Liong (extreme left) and NUS President Prof Tan (extreme right)

Excellence results from the individual's deep desire to be exceptional and constantly do better. Yet it can be multidimensional, touching the life of others and having an impact on society in many different ways.

NUS President Prof Tan Chorh Chuan highlighted this observation at the University Awards 2012 held on 4 May to honour nine exceptional individuals for their excellence in education, research and service to the University, to Singapore and the global community.

This year's University Awards recipients were:

Outstanding Service Award
Recognises sustained meritorious service rendered to the University, to Singapore and the global community
  • Mr Goh Yew Lin, Chairman, Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music

Outstanding Educator Award
Recognises faculty members who have excelled in engaging and inspiring students in their discovery of knowledge
  • Assoc Prof Hooi Shing Chuan, Department of Physiology, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine
  • Dr Lo Mun Hou, University Scholars Programme
  • Assoc Prof Joseph Ooi Thian Leong, Department of Real Estate, School of Design and Environment

Outstanding Researcher Award
Recognises established researchers for their strong track record and overall impact in research
  • Prof Barry Halliwell, Department of Biochemistry, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine
  • Prof Loh Kian Ping, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science

Young Researcher Award
Recognises researchers below 40 years of age for their achievements and promise in research
  • Dr Rahul Jain, Department of Computer Science, School of Computing
  • Dr Wu Jishan, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science
  • Dr Yan Shuicheng, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering

Prof Tan noted that in the pursuit of excellence, it is important to keep alive the dedication to draw out latent talents from people to help them realise their full potential. Excellence is often achieved through collaboration; it is also associated with a powerful passion and belief in a cause or a venture.

Congratulating the winners, Prof Tan said: "Tonight, we are inspired by the enduring impact that all our Award recipients have made on our community, nation and society. We celebrate their accomplishments as individuals, but beyond that, we honour their sense of teamwork and collegiality, which enables us to collectively pursue true excellence as a University."

Mr Goh Yew Lin, the Outstanding Service Award recipient, was accorded special mention for his pivotal contributions to the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music at NUS. The Chairman of the Conservatory was instrumental for its remarkable growth and international success in the last decade. He also offers support to the University as a member of the NUS Board of Trustees, while holding multiple roles as executive director of GK Holdings, director of Temasek Holdings and Boyer Allan Management Ltd, and as Chair of the Censorship Review Committee.

At the awards ceremony, NUS Deputy President (Academic Affairs) and Provost Prof Tan Eng Chye introduced the new Teaching Academy Fellows. Established in 2009, the NUS Teaching Academy aims to contribute to key educational processes within the University and help shape the development of NUS education.

Please click here for more details of the NUS University Awards 2012 and to view the event webcast.