Newshub - NUS' News Portal

Environmental and sustainability research for world future

12 July 2012

The proud winners with Ambassador of the People's Republic of China to Singapore HE Wei Wei (fifth from right), WFF and NUS representatives

Ten outstanding PhD students received this year's World Future Foundation (WFF) PhD Prize in Environmental and Sustainability Research, the only such award in Singapore that recognises excellence in doctoral-level environmental and sustainability research. The winners from NUS and NTU won US$10,000 each for doctoral theses related to the topics on environment, sustainability and metropolis of the future.

This year's winning projects were from the NUS Faculty of Engineering and Faculty of Science, including Dr Saravanan Kuppan's work on finding novel materials for lithium-ion batteries and Dr Wei Yuting's use of environmentally friendly engineered materials to remove arsenic and boron from water.

At the awards ceremony on 11 July, NUS Vice Provost (Education) Professor Tan Thiam Soon pointed out the impressive quality of the 110 submissions received. He congratulated the proud recipients, saying: "Our winners had once again distinguished themselves with their high-quality projects where they have demonstrated passion, creativity and innovativeness in developing multidisciplinary solutions towards solving environmental problems."

This observation was echoed by Dr Feng Lun, Chairman of the board of WFF. He expressed delight at the calibre of the NUS and NTU scholars who have displayed dynamic capabilities to explore sustainable development for the environment constantly.

A renowned social entrepreneur and real estate tycoon, Dr Feng established WFF in 2010, a philanthropic foundation incorporated in Singapore and dedicated to promoting research on environmental sustainability.

The 2012 NUS WFF Prize recipients and their research are as follows:
  • Dr Chen Jie, Faculty of Science
    "Theoretical investigation on thermal properties of silicon based nanostructures"

  • Dr Panu Sukitpaneenit, Faculty of Engineering
    "Fundamentals of PVDF hollow fiber membrane formation and pervaporation for ethanol-water separation"

  • Dr Saravanan Kuppan, Faculty of Science
    "Synthesis of nano-structured materials and their application in lithium-ion batteries"

  • Dr Wei Yuting, Faculty of Engineering
    "Removal of anionic contaminants by environmental-friendly engineered materials"

  • Dr Zhang Wei, Faculty of Engineering
    "Fabrication of dye sensitised solar cells with enhanced conversion efficiency"