Newshub - NUS' News Portal

NUS spin-off company wins ASEAN Energy Award

26 September 2011

(From left) Assoc Prof Cheong, Assoc Prof Sekhar and Assoc Prof Tham with Minister Iswaran (second from left) at the awards ceremony

Enhanced Air Quality Pte Ltd (EAQPL), an NUS spin-off company, won the 2011 ASEAN Energy Award - Energy Efficiency Competition (Special Submissions category) for its Single Coil Twin Fan (SCTF) air-conditioning and air distribution system. The ASEAN Energy Awards recognise efforts by innovative companies in ASEAN to promote and implement energy efficiency and renewable energy solutions.

The inventors of the SCTF are Assoc Profs Tham Kwok Wai, David Cheong Kok Wai and Chandra Sekhar from the NUS Department of Building and Founding Directors of EAQPL. Assoc Prof Tham is also Head of the NUS Department of Building.

An innovative air-conditioning and air distribution system, the SCTF enhances occupants' thermal comfort and indoor air quality in tropical buildings while significantly saving energy. The system is based on decoupling the ventilation needs from the cooling needs. It holds three US and several PCT patents.

The SCTF system has been installed as a demonstration project at Singapore's Building and Construction Authority's Zero Energy Building which resulted in total energy savings amounting to 14 per cent of conventional air-conditioning system.

Lauding this year's winners, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Mr S Iswaran noted that the increasing number of Singapore companies receiving the awards is a testament to Singapore's role as a “living laboratory” for clean energy and energy efficiency solutions.

"We look forward to encouraging more of such companies to create and demonstrate their energy solutions in Singapore, before scaling up their commercial operations for the regional and global markets," said Mr Iswaran.

A total of eight Singapore organisations were among the winners recognised at the 2011 ASEAN Energy Awards, which was held in conjunction with the 29th ASEAN Energy Ministers Meeting in Brunei.