Newshub - NUS' News Portal

Five out of seven winners of Singapore's most prestigious science and technology awards 2010 from NUS

01 October 2010

PRESIDENT'S SCIENCE AWARD: The winners, Prof Yoshiaki Ito from NUS' Cancer Science Institute of Singapore and Prof Wong Tien Yin from NUS' Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, with Singapore President His Excellency Mr S R Nathan (middle)

YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARD WINNERS FROM NUS WITH VIPS: (From left) Dr Andrivo Rusydi; Assoc Prof Teo Yik Ying; Permanent Secretary of Singapore's Ministry of Trade and Industry Mr Ravi Menon; Minister for Trade and Industry Mr Lim Hng Kiang; Chairman of Singapore's Agency for Science, Technology and Research Mr Lim Chuan Poh; and Dr Wu Jishan

NUS researchers form the majority of the outstanding researchers who won Singapore's top awards for science and technology this year. Two out of four winners of the 2010 President's Science and Technology Awards and all three winners of this year's Young Scientist Awards are from NUS.

President's Science Award
Honours research scientists and engineers in Singapore who have made outstanding contributions in basic research leading to the discovery of new knowledge or the pioneering/development of scientific or engineering techniques and methods

Prof Yoshiaki Ito
Click here to read article
Cancer Science Institute of Singapore, NUS
Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, A*STAR

"For his breakthrough discovery of the tumour suppressor roles of RUNX3 in gastric and colon cancers"

Prof Wong Tien Yin
Department of Ophthalmology, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, NUS
Director, Singapore Eye Research Institute
Senior Consultant Ophthalmologist, Singapore National Eye Centre and National University Health System

"For the development and use of novel retinal imaging to understand pathways in cardiovascular and metabolic diseases"

Young Scientist Award
Honours research scientists and engineers aged 35 years and below who have shown great potential to be world-class researchers in their fields of expertise

Assoc Prof Teo Yik Ying
Department of Statistics and Applied Probability, Faculty of Science, NUS
Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, NUS
Genome Institute of Singapore, A*STAR

"For his research on the genetics and genomics of complex human traits, common diseases and infectious diseases"

Dr Andrivo Rusydi
Department of Physics, NUS

"For his research on strongly correlated electron systems and the development of synchrotron-based experimental techniques"

Dr Wu Jishan
Department of Chemistry, NUS

"For his research on organic opto-electronic materials and supramolecular chemistry"

The above winners were conferred their awards by President of Singapore His Excellency Mr S R Nathan at a formal ceremony held at The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore on 30 September 2010. The event was organised by the Agency for Science, Technology and Research, Singapore.