Newshub - NUS' News Portal

Honouring outstanding individuals at Alumni Awards 2011

08 November 2011

NUS Board of Trustees Chairman Mr Wong Ngit Liong (left) presenting the Eminent Alumni Award to Dr Heyzer

The alumni awards recipients with NUS President Prof Tan Chorh Chuan (centre) and Senior Administrators

NUS recognised 16 exceptional individuals at this year’s NUS Alumni Awards on 4 November 2011 for their outstanding contributions to their alma mater and society at large.

Congratulating the winners, NUS President Prof Tan Chorh Chuan said: “The Award recipients we honour this year stand out within this rich pool of talent and achievement. They are beacons of inspiration for all of us because of their remarkable abilities, qualities and perseverance in pursuing their passion.”

“You remind us of what is possible if we set our dreams high, pursue our convictions and use our talents in the service of others. You are the shining examples of the spirit of NUS, reflecting the values and qualities that are cherished by the university community and which we must continue to uphold and extend. Very importantly, you inspire us to strive even harder to excel, to bring our alma mater to new heights, to make NUS a global university centred in Asia,” said Prof Tan.

The Eminent Alumni Award, the highest honour for NUS alumni, was conferred to Dr Noeleen Heyzer, the ninth Executive Secretary of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, the regional arm of the United Nations, as well as the Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations. She has dedicated her career to the development of peace and security for people around the world.

To Dr Heyzer, NUS provided her with her first serious exposure to intellectual analysis and debate. “It gave me the time and space to deepen my thinking and interest in society. This built a solid foundation for my time in Cambridge and has served me well throughout my career,” said Dr Heyzer who graduated from the University of Singapore as top student with a Bachelor of Social Sciences (Hons) in 1971 and a Master of Social Sciences in 1973. She subsequently pursued a Doctor of Philosophy at the University of Cambridge.

The inaugural NUS Alumni Awards was incepted during the University's Centennial Year in 2005 and was held every two years. Past recipients of the Awards included former Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew and Singapore’s 6th President His Excellency S R Nathan.

This year’s Alumni Awards recipients are:

Eminent Alumni Award
  • Dr Noeleen Heyzer
    Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific.

Distinguished Alumni Service Award
  • Mr Bob Chua
    Senior Partner and CEO, Venture8 Pte Ltd
  • Ms Veronica Eng
    Chairman, Primera Funds' Investment Committee, Permira Advisers Ltd
  • Mr Kong Mun Kwong
    Chairman, Seacare Holdings Pte Ltd (a NTUC affiliate)
  • Mr Viswaroopan Sadasivan
    CEO, Strategic Moves Pte Ltd
  • Dr Seek Ngee Huat
    Advisor to the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC) Group Executive Committee

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
  • Mr Darius Cheung
    Director, Consumer Mobile Technology, McAfee
  • Dr Darrel Chong
    Regional Marketing Manager (Asia Pacific and Middle East / Africa), APL Logistics (a subsidiary of NOL Group)
  • Mr Edward Chia
    Managing Director, Ublues Group
  • Mr Eric Feng
    Executive Director, Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Secretariat
  • Mr Adam Khoo
    Executive Chairman and Chief Master Trainer, Adam Khoo Learning Technologies Group Pte Ltd
  • Mr Kiran Kumar
    Master of Fine Arts candidate, School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong (CUHK)
  • Mr Ivan Lee
    Founder and CEO, Thai Express
  • Mr Benjamin Lee
    Head, Government Admin Programmes & Security Programmes, Ministry of Finance
  • Mr Wekie Tay
    Public Speaker/ Trainer/ Consultant, Wekie Tay Associates
  • Ms Tung Soo Hua
    News and Current Affairs Presenter, MediaCorp