Newshub - NUS' News Portal

NUS Board welcomes new trustee

1 Aug 2013

New NUS trustee Mr Neo Kian Hong

Mr Neo Kian Hong, Permanent Secretary (Education Development) at the Singapore Ministry of Education, has joined the NUS Board of Trustees with effect from 1 August 2013. He takes over from Ms Yeoh Chee Yan, Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth.

Welcoming Mr Neo to the NUS Board, NUS Chairman Mr Wong Ngit Liong said: “We look forward to his participation and contributions on strategic issues aimed at enhancing NUS’ position as a leading university.”

Mr Neo had served in the Singapore military for some 30 years and held many key roles, including that of Chief of Defence Force of the Singapore Armed Forces from March 2010 to March 2013.

Mr Wong also thanked Ms Yeoh for having been “an invaluable trustee”. He said: “The University has benefitted greatly from her insights and experience as well as her unwavering and dedicated support, and passion for education and students.”

The NUS Board of Trustees consists of 24 members appointed by the Minister for Education. They comprise eminent business leaders, academics, entrepreneurs and professionals from the public service and private sector. The Board is chaired by Mr Wong, who is concurrently the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Venture Corporation Limited. 

For the full list of the NUS Board of Trustees, click here.